Egypt Coach Carlos Queiroz has criticized Gambian referee Bakary Gassama for not handing his team “a clear penalty” against Nigeria, saying even his grandmother would have given the penalty.
The Super Eagles triumphed 1-0 over their North African rivals to go top of 2021 AFCON Group D, which also has Sudan and Guinea Bissau.
However, the former Real Madrid Coach said the result would have been different had the penalty been awarded after it appeared Moses Simon fouled Zamalek winger Zizo inside the box.
“In the second half, there was a very clear penalty for us that the referee didn’t award and the VAR did not intervene,” Queiroz told AfricaFootUnited.
“Maybe at that time, the VAR was not working.
“There was clearly a penalty. It wasn’t our day, it wasn’t also a good day for the refereeing. Even my grandmother would have awarded it a penalty.
“It is a disaster because there are VAR referees. It is unacceptable. Watch the incident yourself. It’s unbelievable that with all these referees, no one noticed the penalty,” he said.